Drive for dollars led me to a house deliquent on taxes...Now What?

11 Replies

Hello BP,

During a casual drive for dollars I came across a house that has some tell tale signs it's abandoned. (out of control lawn, broken awning, looks like nobody has been home).

So I decided to go to look up the property and see who owns the house and if the taxes have been paid. I see 2013 and 2014 have not been paid according to the county website.

The taxes are reasonable to pay to bring current (approx. $6K) but I've never done this before. The houses in the area sell for around $120k. Can someone please direct me as to what steps I need to accomplish in order to do this correctly?

My goal would be to eventually acquire the property, fix it up and sell it. I also know the owner can come back and pay me to get control of their taxes again. If that was to happen how do I establish an interest rate to get paid back and how much time do they have pay me in full?

Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

JL 

If you paid the delinquent taxes on a property I owned, I'd show my appreciation by thanking you. Might even send you a Starbucks gift card for a cup of Joe.

Seems like there's a big disconnect here. Why do you think paying a stranger's taxes obligates them to reimburse you, let alone pay you interest?

You need to either buy the asset from the record owner, find their heirs so that a way to pass title to you may be determined, or buy the debt and foreclose.

@rickharmon I guess I'm wondering how a tax lien works. It's my understanding if someone falls behind on their property taxes someone can pay them and now have an interest in the property. Once that happens the current owner is notified the taxes have been purchased. If the money is not paid back, and with interest, the owner can lose the property to the one who took over the delinquent taxes.

My apologies if my initial post left you wondering what I was talking about. I am hoping someone here will clarify this for me.