Tax Liens & Mortgage Notes

User Stats

Votes
Suzanne P.
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Toronto, Ontario
Votes |
Investing in Notes - Best way to learn quickly & possible JVs?

Suzanne P.
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Toronto, Ontario
Posted Jan 2 2017, 07:49

Bigger Pockets continues to amaze me - thank you, Josh and Brandon for creating such an amazing forum & knowledge treasure trove! I listened to the podcast with Dave Van Horn yesterday about note investing. I have some experience with this since I have been lending on second mortgages in Canada with a return of about 12 to 13%. These were new mortgages that were originated by a mortgage broker and I was the second mortgage lender who was secured through a 2nd mortgage. Since I needed more cash flow/ a bigger return I have started to do joint ventures as the money partner with active investors on flips where the return is significantly higher. But the passive nature of mortgage lending has always intrigued me and that's why note investing sounds so interesting. In the podcast it certainly sounded like note investing can offer much higher returns than what I was able to achieve through 2nd mortgages. 

Because I believe in leverage I would be most interested in learning how to invest in notes on junior loans (2nd mortgages), performing and non-performing. Listening to Dave van Horn's podcast it sounded like there are a whole range of investment strategies with notes and different exit strategies (re-working the loan, selling the note, using the note as collateral for another transaction, and probably a few more...). I also like the idea that note investing contributes positively to the economy and can provide a good solution for a borrower who has experienced some difficulties.