Splitting Profits Amongst Partners When Putting 0 Down

3 Replies

I am completely new to REI and have two investors willing to partner with me on a rehab opportunity. Let me give you the scenario:

• WE WOULD BE APPLYING FOR A FANNIE MAE HOMESTYLE LOAN, 
  • THE 2 PARNTERS WOULD BE COMPLETELY RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYING FOR THE DOWNPAYMENT
  • THEY WILL BE PAYING THE INTEREST ON THE LOAN EVERY MONTH UNTIL THE PROPERTY IS SOLD
  • EVERYTHING WILL BE PLACED IN MY NAME (LOAN, HOME, ETC), 

They have offered me 10% of the profits, with them taking 45% each on this deal since they are placing the original downpayment. Is this something that makes sense? I understand that without the down payment the deal cannot be done but since everything is in my name, am I not at risk as well? Just wondering if the split of the profits make sense.

Any guidance you could provide would be greatly appreciated. As I stated, I am just trying to get my foot in the door and want to make sure I am not setting myself up for failure. 

Let me know your thoughts. 

Thanks

Aside from them using you as a front on the mmortgage what are you contributing to the deal.