Investing in Promissory Notes - Strategic Legacy Group

8 Replies

Hi BP,

I came across this company (link below) while looking for some lower risk investments. They are promising 6%-9% on promissory notes backed by their RE projects and it looks a little too good to be true. Does anyone have any insight on this business model? It theoretically makes sense if their holdings are delivering returns as high as they claim. I'm new to investing in debt but what should I be on the lookout for? I don't think they are registered with the SEC and am not 100% sure how the note would be structured. If this should be posted in another forum, let me know.

Thanks in advance.

https://slinvestmentgroup.com/what-we-do/short-ter...

Originally posted by @Toan Pham :

Hi BP,

I came across this company (link below) while looking for some lower risk investments. They are promising 6%-9% on promissory notes backed by their RE projects and it looks a little too good to be true. Does anyone have any insight on this business model? It theoretically makes sense if their holdings are delivering returns as high as they claim. I'm new to investing in debt but what should I be on the lookout for? I don't think they are registered with the SEC and am not 100% sure how the note would be structured. If this should be posted in another forum, let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Hey Toan,

No clue who these guys are but 6-9% isn't too good to be true, in fact it's kind of low. You should have no problem lending to local investors in your area for more than that, or you can purchase a reperforming note in the 12% range.

I know it doesn't answer your specific question but if you tell us a bit more about your goals and what you're trying to do, we might be able to guide you in the right direction.

Thanks @Patrick Desjardins . I guess when I say "too good to be true" i was comparing it to traditional vehicles like bonds but I guess that's not a fair comparison.