• Las Vegas, NV
Votes |
Investor/Agent Relationship - Finding Deals

Dan Mumm
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Las Vegas, NV
Posted Jan 9 2020, 14:39

Hi all,

I've had a lot of people reach out to me privately about investing in Las Vegas and decided this would be a good place to share some tips for building a successful investor/agent relationship. Part of my intention with this post is to create a codified reference to send to clients before working together. This will also be helpful for other investors who are just getting started.

For the sake of providing credentials (not intending to brag), I am a very active agent and investor. I both live and work in Las Vegas. I personally sell about 100 homes a year (15-20% of which are investor clients, thank you BP!) and have acquired multiple single family and townhome rental properties. I also invest in large multifamily properties.

With experience as both an agent and investor, I feel (somewhat) qualified to speak to this important relationship and how to make it synergistic and fruitful. As an investor, I am certainly familiar with the frustration of dealing with “Soccer mom” Realtors who pitch cute kitchens and have no acumen on the investing side of the business. As a Realtor, I am familiar with the frustration of dealing with “time sucker” investors who want me to spend 50hrs/week finding them deals, writing 10 offers a day, while they work with 9 Realtors and then never end up buying. 

Hopefully this short guide will help you in either role.