New SFH in Reno as first investment rental property?

19 Replies

Newbie here. Has anyone looked at some of the new SFH in the communities around Reno, Nevada? the prices are around the mid 300k. What do you guys think of them as a buy and hold investment?

Hey Johnny,

I live in Reno and I'm quite familiar all the neighborhoods. I've lived here most of my life but am originally from San Francisco. I have four rentals in various parts of town. I would be more than happy to give you feedback on any areas you're looking at. I'm not a realtor but a retires SAP guy that happens to own some real estate. Schools are a big factor in attracting good renters.

Perry

Hey Johny, 

Ive lived in the Reno area most my life and have owned a couple homes for my primary residence. Ive been analyzing deals for several months now from the mls, trying to find buy and hold rentals. Strictly looking at cash flow and cash on cash return, there hasnt been great options, not to say there not out there but just sharing what ive found so far. However, the appreciation is excellent. My personal home has gone up 65k in just 2 years. Hope this is helpful

Best of luck to you

Brandon

I live in Reno too. Making a cash flow play here is pretty tough at housing prices where they are now. Average rents tend to be at or only slightly above what a 75% LTV mortgage would cost you. So essentially one month of vacancy could wipe out your entire year's cash flow. Also Reno/Sparks tends to have pockets all over the place. For instance just a few blocks to the south of my house, homes have been selling for 700k to $1M, but just a few blocks to the east of me, they are selling for 350k or so. So dialing in an accurate ARV requires someone familiar with all the little pockets. "Within 1 mile" doesn't really cut it here. You have to look at the specific neighborhoods.