Albuquerque

User Stats

Votes
Kirsten M.
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Albuquerque, NM
Votes |
Albuquerque Market - Why are prices increasing?

Kirsten M.
Pro Member
  • Realtor
  • Albuquerque, NM
Posted Sep 16 2019, 16:24

I've been investing in the Albuquerque area for almost 3 years. In the last year, I've noticed that home prices are increasing more rapidly. While this isn't going to deter me from investing, I'd like to know if I need to change my investing strategy.

I live abroad most of the year and therefore, have not made an effort to attend any meetups. I read the local news and I talk to friends in the area about the happenings there. I know there are some big things happening in ABQ and surrounding areas - Netflix, Facebook, Intel, New Mexico United, etc. But what is driving the market higher?

Any thoughts would be apprecited. 

User Stats

Votes
Lydia S.
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Albuquerque, NM
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Albuquerque, NM
Replied Sep 17 2019, 06:50

@Kirsten M.

Those factors are bringing people into the area from out of state for sure, as well as people relocating here from expensive states like California and Colorado.  I’ve met quite a few moving from Texas too.

This is all adding to our current market imbalance - it’s a seller’s market.  

We have about a 2 - 2.3 month supply of homes, yet a balanced market would be closer to a 6 month supply, and so there’s a lot of competition and higher home prices.  

User Stats

Votes
David Torres
  • Full Time Investor
  • Albuquerque, NM
Votes |
  • Full Time Investor
  • Albuquerque, NM
Replied Sep 17 2019, 08:59

@Kristen Marino I did a presentation on the state of the market in ABQ at last months ABQREIA.  Here is a copy:

https://drive.google.com/open?...

Highlights - 

NM Populations is not growing as fast as a lot of other places

NM Unemployment is at 4.9% (full employment is considered 6%)

July 2018 Inventory 3500 Detached Homes -  July 2019 Inventory 2300 Detached homes!