Multifamily investments in NYC/Manhattan

10 Replies

Hi everyone,

I was wondering whether you think it is a good time to invest in multi-families in Manhattan (ranging from 3 to 20 units) or neighbouring areas. I am looking at Harlem, Astoria, Brooklyn. Upper West Side also has some opportunities but a little out of price range for us.

Also, any thoughts on rent stabilised?

Thanks,

Cristiano

At this point it seems like it's still catching a falling knife in many (if not all) of the high cost primary markets. We're still in the midst of covid and additional lockdowns are probably on the way. I'm not an expert on NYC investing, but I bet the smart money is waiting and watching for the real deals to start coming up.

Hi Cristiano,

I have a bit of a different take than Taylor. I'm native to Brooklyn and I actually think now is a really good time to look for deals. I'm currently doing this with a few clients. Cap rates have increased to the point where the numbers can actually work in parts of Brooklyn and Queens, I'm not as certain about Manhattan. 

I just sent you a note to connect, happy to share my insights and help wherever I can.

Josh

Hi Cristiano, I work as a landlord's agent in Uptown Manhattan primarily. Happy to chat about some opportunities in that specific market. I am also looking to buy in that area as that is where my business is so there's a slight edge to be had.

Originally posted by @Taylor L. :

At this point it seems like it's still catching a falling knife in many (if not all) of the high cost primary markets. We're still in the midst of covid and additional lockdowns are probably on the way. I'm not an expert on NYC investing, but I bet the smart money is waiting and watching for the real deals to start coming up.