Skip to content
New York City Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Brian Wong
  • Rental Property Investor
Votes |
Avengers Assemble...? (FHA 203k Bronx Multifamily Gut Rehab)

Brian Wong
  • Rental Property Investor
Posted Jul 30 2020, 16:46

INTRO/BACKGROUND:

Hi! My name is Brian and I'm a real estate newbie. Or well, I've been lurking Bigger Pockets as a way to educate myself for a while now and am only starting to dip my toes into the waters of real estate investing. Like others, I'm interested in using low-down-payment loans (i.e FHA) in order to break into the NYC market. And as I've been--and still am--scouring NYC listings every day (brokers/agents, contact me!), I've come to the realization that the use of the 203(k) section is probably the best bet to help someone like me take a big first step forward.

I've been doing a bit of due diligence and have been making a lot of phone calls.
Currently, one listing has caught my attention and it involves the gut rehab of a multifamily townhouse. This is probably the ultimate high-end portion of what the 203(k) was meant for, but it'd be an understatement to say that I'm excited to dive into the process headfirst. 

But first things first--I need to estimate rehab costs for the entire project undertaking before I can even move forward with this daydream of mine. This is not exactly a great time to network in person, so I'm hoping that at least some of you out there will respond to this post. (unless someone can recommend some online meet-ups?)

So right now, I am (hoping this is not solicitation)

LOOKING FOR A TEAM WITH TOWNHOUSE GUT REHAB EXPERIENCE IN NYC (Bronx, 203k, historic experience--added plus):

1. GENERAL CONTRACTOR $$$

2. 203(k) Consultant

3. Architect/Engineer

4. Third-Party Inspection Agency

5. Lawyer

Optional:

6. Surveyor 

7. Energy/Environmental Consultant

8. Historic Preservation Consultant

9. Geotechnical Engineer

10. ADA Consultant

11. Accountant

12. Property Manager/Building Super