Newbie looking for advice!

12 Replies

Hi all!

I am very new to BP. I came across this the other day and all I can say is WOW. Between all the podcasts i have listened to and the pages of forums i have read, i have so much more knowledge than i had before. Thank you BP.

RE has always been something I have wanted to do since I was young. I still am young. I'm a 22 year old working class man. Within the last few months i have been trying to educate myself on as much as possible. I'm very fortunate that I have this opportunity to pursue my dream. 

I would love to hear from some investors in the Cincinnati area (where i currently live). I'd like to hear some opinions such as renting or flipping. Also some success stories and how you came across you first deal!

Id love to hear anything anybody has to say!!!! Open to anything and everything!

Welcome @Cody Disanto ,

At your age you might want to look at house hacking.  Lot of good areas to chose from in Cincinnati where you could buy a 2-4 family building and start building your empire.  

I really wish I got started at your age. 

Good luck!

Paul

Paul,

Thank for your reply! I appreciate the advice. House hacking is something I plan doing. 

What would your personal advice be with 50k cash upfront ? Do you still think a multi family is best option or think it is best to do a fix and flip? I am very handy , and can do almost all labor myself. 

Thank you for your reply! 

Hey Cody,

I got started with house hacking and my general advice is to cashflow as soon as possible. Doing renovations whether by yourself or with a contractor can be fine if it's adding big value to the property but often it becomes a time/money pit. For your first property I would stick to a nice turn-key place. Either multifam or house hack will work because they function practically the same if you use it as a primary residence. You can always play around with rehabs later once you have some nice cashflow to back you up.