Best areas near USC to purchase rental?

22 Replies

My son is attending USC this fall and although he is living on campus I want to invest in a property that I can rent out and I'm not familiar with the best areas for this purpose.  I would love to hear some feedback so I can start looking.  With one kid at UNC Charlotte now the other at USC Im all about residency these days.  Thanks for your input

Hi Sloane,

Great choice by your son to become a Gamecock. I graduated in 2010 and the most popular areas that students lived in were the Hollywood/Rose Hill area and Shandon. These two areas are right next to each other and are close to campus and Five Points. I know the city has become more developed since then and that there are some newer apartment complexes by the stadium that could also be a good choice.

Hi, Where you buy depends in part on your budget. I know a lot of USCstudents who live in West Columbia, right across the bridge from USC because the rents are more reasonable. You can pick up hpuses there, or Rosewood, Shandon etc. I will say that most housing (small apartments and houses) right near USC are older and have issues that do with their age but the rents are high.

I agree with Jo and am no way influenced by our office being in West Columbia ;)

Another area is what I call Rosewood when I am selling there but call South Kilbourne when I am buying. Near Jim Hamilton Airport is a place you could pay 50 to 95k for a small well-built house that seems likely to appreciate. Younger people and gentrification going on there and those houses would rent for 900 or more after he graduates.  Downtown there are a couple of nice condo towers that make a lot of financial sense for someone who would otherwise be renting. I am selling a two-bedroom condo to a family for their freshman son for 110k. He will rent one room to a friend for 6 to 700 and be paying practically nothing, even with regime fees.