Votes |
Tax Rate on ADU when main house in owner occupied - N. Charleston

Hilary Harrison
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • North Charleston, SC
Posted Aug 30 2021, 06:17

Hey All!

Hoping someone may be able to help me with this question. I'm fairly new to real estate investing and recently bought a house in the Park Circle area of North Charleston. The house has an ADU, and the ADU currently has a tenant. I live in the main house. I assumed that since this property qualified as a single family residence and I'm living in the main house with it being my primary residence that the tax rate would be the primary 4%. However, I just got the Charleston County's assessment letter and it shows that the main house is taxed at the 4% and the ADU on the property is taxed at 6%, with the entire value of the home being split between the two structures.

Does anyone happen to know if this is accurate? I'm assuming it is, but was surprised to find I'd have two separate tax rates - one at the primary rate and one at the rental rate. I thought I'd just have one tax rate for everything at the 4%.

Thank you!

Hilary

User Stats

Votes
Will Gaston
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbia, SC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbia, SC
Replied Aug 30 2021, 07:48

@Hilary Harrison I believe in Columbia (Richland County) this would likely be pro-rated based on the SF and/or the value.

What are the SFs of both the main house and the guest house?

User Stats

Votes
Hilary Harrison
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • North Charleston, SC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • North Charleston, SC
Replied Aug 30 2021, 09:17