Skip to content
San Antonio Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Cynthia Veenendaal
  • Rental Property Investor
  • West Covina, CA
Votes |
CA homeowner with equity to invest in TX - need some advice.

Cynthia Veenendaal
  • Rental Property Investor
  • West Covina, CA
Posted Feb 19 2019, 19:28

Hello :)

I'm new to BiggerPockets and new to real estate investing. I've got some big decisions to make and thought I'd reach out to the BP community for advice and insight. Here's my story...

I currently live in West Covina, CA and have considerable equity in my home. My husband and I have been thinking about selling our home for the past few years as the neighborhood just isn’t what it used to be. From much of what I’ve read, many sources are forecasting a drop in CA home prices around 2020; so we’re thinking that we want to put our house on the market this summer. But if we sell and buy another home this summer as planned, we would find ourselves in a “Catch 22”. If we sell, we are likely to receive top dollar for our home…yay! Conversely though, if we buy at the same time, we will likely pay top dollar for our new home…boo!

Inasmuch as we’d like to upgrade to a better home, the thought of paying over $750K for a home seriously makes body parts pucker! After much discussion, my husband and I concurred that investing our equity would be the better choice for us right now.