100k cash-- how would you invest in San Antonio?

11 Replies | San Antonio, Texas

Hello BP! If you had 100k cash to use on real estate for the San Antonio market now, how would you invest? 

Any specific zipcode/areas that are up and coming but still good for fixer deals, especially on all cash offers under 150k?

I'm new to the San Antonio market and looking to BRRRR, hoping to find foreclosures/off market fixers. If there's anyone experienced with foreclosures in SA, I would love to connect! Also open to partnerships if anyone is looking as well as finding an experienced investor-friendly agent! My background has been mostly passive investing in flips and syndications in Los Angeles, currently looking to move to San Antonio.
Also any DIY-ers? I'm looking to DIY the house hack as much as possible, mostly because I enjoy handiwork and want to learn, would love to connect!

Thank you! 

The market nationally is so hot, that the best play is fix and flip. If you BRRR you could get caught in a down market and all that comes with it when buying at the top. I would not buy anything right now unless it had huge discounts. — Whenever the pandemic buyers return to the cities, there is going to be a correction to market pricing, and then a long process of digging ourselves out.

I would buy SFR with little work and paying 20 or 25% down. Find older homes that banks will still finance but ugly enough that most people wouldn't want to buy so you have less competition. You should be able to buy a couple these homes, cash flow them a little bit (prices has gone up so much it's becoming hard to cashflow them), and enjoy the 6% apreciation on the whole price of the property!