Looking to invest in the Dallas, TX Market

8 Replies

I have been seeing alot of activity in the Dallas area in terms of people moving to that area, as well as the percentage of renters vs homebuyers are significantly higher in comparison to the rest of the country. Does anyone have experience in investing in this area that could connect me with a reputable agent who works with investors, contractors and property managers?

I am an agent, wholesaler and investor in the Philadelphia market- which is a great market, but I like the future growth that Dallas has to offer! Any insight would be greatly appreciated

Hey Brandon!

There are tons of us Agents from the DFW area that are on BP. We all work primarily with investors. There is an influx of people who are moving here. Big business' moving here as well as people from New York and California. 

Dallas,TX is an appreciation play. It is NOT a cashflow play unless you go into multi family. The reason you are seeing so many renters is because MOST people don't move to a new city/state and immediately buy a house. They rent first. They learn the area they like/love then move there when they are ready. They aren't moving into SFH rentals immediately, they are moving into apartments. So the data is correct, but you have to dig deeper into to see the full picture.

Now with that said all of those people need a house to move into eventually. This is where the appreciation play comes in. DFW housing prices have almost doubled since 2015. Builders are already behind a year if not not more. With all of those people coming in then people no housing for them along with big business that are going to continue to drive traffic here which will continue to push housing prices up.