Newer member to BP, moving to the DFW area soon!

8 Replies

Hello everyone! My wife and I will be moving to the DFW area soon and will be looking to begin our real estate journey. Our ultimate goal, like many others, is to gain financial freedom through real estate. Our primary focus will be buy and hold small multi-family properties and townhomes/condos, preferably value add opportunities. I am an aircraft engineer and very fortunate to have quite a bit of free time with my work schedule. With that, I would like to be as active as possible. So if anyone with similar interests or anyone that has experience in this niche, I would love to get together if possible, maybe buy you lunch, or offer any help I am able to give in my spare time! Need someone to paint a room for free? Maybe run those errands you just cant get to? Let me help free of charge! I look forward to meeting many of you in the future and feeding ideas and energy to one another. Take care!

Caleb

Hey Caleb, I'm new to this as well but thought I would share some info you might find useful if your looking for areas to invest in DFW.

In Fort Worth there is an area called Scenic Bluff (sometimes referred to as Four Points or River East) that's being revitalized. Long ago the city tried to implement a program for improvement but it was halted due to the crash. Lately though the improvements have started to happen.  An investing firm from Dallas has come in and re-done Race Street along with building two apartment complexes and some REALLY NICE town homes. There is also a new Top Golf and some things they are doing to the Riverside Park. 

There are still areas with run-downish houses that could be value add opportunities if your willing to put in the work.  I think the price-to-rent ratio is pretty good too.