Qatar Real estate, Pros and Cons

7 Replies

Hello

I am a real estate investor, i have extensive experience in the aforementioned market, and I would start with the prons

1) tax free

2) high yield in some Area

Cons

1) lack of data and reports related to real estate, in the USA, there are many reports. In Qatar, there are some report but it is not like the USA and the western world

2) foreigners cannot buy in certain areas

I am choosing to invest here, because I have the data and experience, for me, it is too hard to invest outside because i have to learn everything from zero. Who is willing to invest in Qatar, he/she shall study the market carefully, If i want to purchase any real estate outside Qatar, I will study the market for at least 3 months.

Please don't hesitate to ask me any related question of this subject

Can foreigners buy property?   If you can are they friendly to non-citizens buying property or do you have to do risky work arounds?  Are both the rent profits and capital gains tax free?   What are rents vs purchase price?   Can you hit the 1% rule?   Is there appreciation?   Is there reliable property management?   Who is your target renter?   Do things change if US reduces forces there or changes off base housing policies?   How is the country doing on adding job base?   Is the currency stable?

Please find my answers below

Can foreigners buy property? 

Yes

If you can are they friendly to non-citizens buying property or do you have to do risky work around? 

no, it is 100% legal (and friendly) for non-local to purchase in many areas, and foreigners might obtain a visa permit to live

, in other areas it is illegal, but some non-local do it anyway, they use some laws which is risky and the law is grey in these areas.

Are both the rent profits and capital gains tax free?