• Investor and Real Estate Agent
  • Milwaukee - Mequon, WI
Votes |
Milwaukee market home values

Marcus Auerbach#1 Real Estate News & Current Events Contributor
  • Investor and Real Estate Agent
  • Milwaukee - Mequon, WI
Posted Aug 20 2017, 10:34

Some personal thoughts and opinions about property values I have as an Investor and Realtor I thought I could share.

Home prices will continue to rise nationally and Milwaukee, Wisconsin will be no exception as far as I am concerned. I am especially optimistic for the segement below $300k, because builders focus on more expensive projects, in particular $300-500k. Out of 550 homes built and sold in greater Milwaukee 400 are in that over 300k category. More homes were built for $500k+ than for under $250k (just 39).

New construction starts remain still well below historical norms, meanwhile the improving economy keeps driving demand - and prices. This will continue until supply starts to chatch up with demand. Given the shortage of qualified contractors and trades it might take a while for the gap to close. The only question for me is how much will home values go up in the next 5 years. Here is what 114 experts think:

What does that mean for investors? If you hold SF properties in the 100-250k range in Milwaukee or the surrounding suburbs you should reasonably expect some good appreciation over the next years (on top of you cash flow!). Short of a global political cristis or a monetary system issue we should be in good shape: lending standards are still very strict (compared to pre 2008), but have eased up enough to allow for a growing market.