• Investor
  • Madison, WI
Votes |
Madison, Wisconsin - Q2 Report

Jack Medford
  • Investor
  • Madison, WI
Posted Jul 8 2019, 11:02

This is my first attempt at making a quarterly report for the city of Madison, WI. I'll be posting one at the end of every quarter for the foreseeable future, so PLEASE LEAVE ME YOUR FEEDBACK so I can continually improve these until I have a working template that can be easily replicated quarter after quarter. 

One thing I plan to include in future reports is a breakdown of each of the asset classes included in the build. For now, the data is for all types of properties that fit within the three major asset classes, as listed in the Report Build below. 

Report Build:

I've taken the data from every Q2 going back to 2000 which include the statistics of the three major residential asset classes: Single Family, Condo, and Multi Family. I then compare the data in three charts:

1. Total Homes Listed
  2. Avg Sale Price vs Avg Days on Market
  3. Percent Sold vs Percent Expired

I then compare these over two time periods, the last 10 years (2010 - 2019) and since 2000. Finally I compare YTD numbers using the same methods described above, over the same two time periods.

TL;DR - There is no immediate sign of slowdown for the local market. If the pre-recession data is any indication of future housing recessions, then we are still a couple years away from seeing anything significant in that regard. 

Q2 REPORT - MADISON, WI

Total Homes Listed:

Total properties listed shows a story those of us familiar with Madison know all too well... Very little inventory to meet the growing demand for properties. Especially properties in the sub-$300k range. Based on the previous 2 years, it appeared that we might have been on the way to seeing more inventory available, but that clearly isn't the case, at least so far into 2019.