Should I read scam related authors?

10 Replies

I used to read Robert kiosk is books and program but... I dug up some info I did not know before. And. I'm tired of reading and learning from these type of authors/mentors.

1. I'm new to real estate. I don't know f the authors are just selling dreams or are in touch with reality.

2. I recently got a wake up call of year life and real debts. To be exact student loan. I don't want any author that can persuade me to the wrong path

Can someone pleases he'd some light. I'm recently reading a book from Peter Conti and David Finkel.(a book bigger pockets suggested reading). But as I said I'm. It sure if I should trust scam "gurus".

Thanks in advance

Disclosure: I'm the same person.

Typos*

Robert kyosaki*

Don't know if*

Wake up call of real life*

Please shed some light*

@Juan soto There is nothing wrong with reading books by the "gurus". If nothing else, they keep you dreaming big. Having a big dream is really good for keeping you on track of your goals.

When reading books by gurus, look for little bits of information that you can apply to your investment strategies without falling too in love with what they are teaching. Many gurus teach information that is outdated, only works in theory, or is possibly even illegal.

I once had a "guru" try to show me how to flip a heavily leveraged commercial property, but the technique he was teaching could easily be seen as defrauding to the original lending institution.

For great recommendations on books to read, listen to the biggerpockets podcast. At the end of every interview, they ask the participant about their favorite investing books. Many of the books suggested are very good reads!

I hope this helps!

-Joel

thank you very much on your response Joel. I literally haven't begun investing yet. I'm moving very soon to Florida and plan on going to the investment clubs. Really excited about that. Trying to first feta mentor to help me on the way.