• Washington, DC
Votes |
Make Money In Short-Sale Foreclosures

Chad B.
  • Attorney
  • Washington, DC
Posted Aug 3 2008, 10:48

Written by Chantel Howell Carey and Bill Carey

I'm new at this so I could be wrong on some of my points but after spending time on this website learning from it's members and then going and reading this book I am shocked that these authors are able to promote a book as so called experts when I believe that there is atleast 20 people on this site more qualified to write this book then them.

Here is two quick examples of why I don't think these authors know what they are talking about:

In Chapter 7 Titled No Equity? No Problem
They use an example of a property saying it is worth $210,000
The loan balance is $200,000 and the owner is currently behind $3,600 in mortgage payments. They go to discuss how this is the perfect property to negotiate a short sale and they suggest trying to get the property from the lender for $169,000 producing an instant equity of $41,000.

From what I've learned here that doesn't sound like such a great deal to me. Let's say you are lucky enough not to have to put any money in the property and you are able to quickly resell the property. About the best your going to do is about a $25,000 profit. Probably much less expecially if you consider Uncle Sam's take. Sound's like too much risk for too little reward in my opinion. Using the 70% of ARV discussed on this forum we should be trying to get this property for $147,000 or less.