Long Island Real Estate Forum

User Stats

Votes
Jones Owens
Votes |
Long Island - Fundamental Stumbling Block

Jones Owens
Posted Apr 15 2019, 17:21

Long Island is quite strange because NYC, JC, and CT are right next door, yet LI's fundamentals are making my head spin.

Both in NYC and Long Island, the net income from job would be about the same after the LIRR/MTA/city tax factored in. What's vastly different is the property tax, school zoning, and commuter costs.

I am very new to RE investing, but my hunch tells me that if the main source of funding for schools in a given school district is the properties and not a commercial sector, this will eat into the potential appreciation. Look at NYC. Schools are poorer, yet a home in Brownsville or Mott haven costs more than the average home in a good school district in Long Island. The island itself is great, but the home owner funding of schools is an extreme bottleneck on property tax, which increases exponentially with more crowding. Considering many people are renting basements illegaly, which they have to in order to afford the tax payment, it's not a sustainable path for growth in my opinion. Combine that with a hefty LIRR fee, and lack of commuter parking, and you get congetion issues which force owners to sell in Li and buy elsewhere, further away in the island, somewhere by riverhead or outright not in the island.

Rents are high, which is a good thing, but I am not sure if it would be wise to throw a huge portion of the rental income on property tax, when it could go into your home. The issue with then buying the city is that the rents are too low to pay for the mortgage, taxes, and maintenance,unless you get a 3/4 family home.