Issue with Tenant Cloud for managing properties... wanting input

14 Replies

Hello,

First post and not sure it is in the right spot, but hopefully it's correct! I am a broker and investor in Indianapolis.

I am looking to reach out to other users of Tenant Cloud to see if they are having some of the same issues. There is a lot I like about it, but I am having a few issues and was told it was just my account and they would fix them and I have not seen or heard from them again... going on two months. Issues are:

1. Strange accounting: I, as the property manager, pay for the screening fee and charge the applicant a fee as well. The fee shows up on my management company's accounting as an expense and that I paid for it, but shows up also under the property expenses and looks like the property owner has paid it. Also the prospective tenant's payment shows up under the property owner's income no matter what. There is a button that says "hide from owner" if I click it the applicants payment is hidden from the property owner's reports, but it still shows up on the property's account balance and there is no way to take it out of the property account without it showing a transaction against the owner... making the whole process of accepting an application fee, paying a screening fee, and the feature of "hiding the transaction" pretty useless. As of the last few months I have been deleting the screening fee that I paid from the property account and keeping my company books in another accounting program. I then chose not to hide the applicants screening payment that shows up under the property's account, but then issue a payment to my company... which I had to set up as a vendor under the system. This is making the property management account in TC useless.