Tenants with no rental history

8 Replies

I am new to this so please forgive me if this was discussed elsewhere but I searched and could not find anything. I have two duplex's right next to each other and for the last year and a half, the tenants have all been amazing. A tenant just moved out and I am looking for a new tenant. I was wondering what people's opinions were about renting to young people with no rental history. I have two young girls that would like to rent. I have not gotten their applications back yet but I literally just met them at the property. One girl works at a restaurant, and the other is working part time and going to school part time (and pregnant). The girl going to school receives social security checks since her mom died when she was younger. My wife thinks they will be great as long as their income and jobs check out. I am a little nervous because they both currently live with family and on top of that, the last thing I need is a couple young party girls coming in and upsetting all the other great tenants. I know this may be a little premature since I have not even gotten their applications back yet but I was wondering what people thought. Thanks!

Walk away.

If you want a little more assurance ask if they have any family members who would be willing to be guarantor on the lease. Also run a credit report, verify employment and ask for bank statements.

Lastly, if you like what you see on all their documents, lay down the ground rules for renting your unit; what they can and can't do. But make sure you're operating with in the boundaries of the law when setting up your rules.

Look at the numbers and make sure they can afford it. It sounds great to say they want to move out from family into a house, but thats $x a month they aren't having to pay right now.