Landlord trying to terminate lease early

40 Replies

Hi,

I am a resident of Texas. I have been a good tenant (openly acknowledged by my land lord) and on occasion, I have even helped her out by forwarding her critical mails etc. I can only guess that she is having trouble paying her mortgage, given how many times the bank sent a occupancy verification letter to our house, which I forwarded to her.

Now my landlord is trying to terminate our lease early (move out by june 1st , 2014 ) without giving me a reason as to why, which is 1 month before our current lease term expires (june 30th, 2014). It is just not feasible for my family to move out by that date. So far, she has been ignoring my calls/emails, which is increasing my concern. Last thing I want to happen is someone showing up on my doorstep on May 31st and asking me to vacate.

In case someone tries to force me out, what is the best way for me to get help without incurring expensive attorney fees ?

Thanks!

Ask her to pay for the moving company. Or whatever can make you move easier. Being that you are great tentant, it shouldn't be hard to find a new place...

Thanks Rafael. She's is not responsive and out of state. Once she responds, I think I can negotiate a few things. But right now, she isn't responding at all.

Verification of occupancy makes it seem like she has an OO loan on property but is using it as a rental. Especially if those letters are coming to your residence. I can only guess the bank's interest is piqued and she's having a freak out.

Perhaps she wants you out early to move in herself? Whatever it is, it has the appearance of something sketchy. You may start looking elsewhere for housing as a backup plan.

Google "Texas Property Code Chapter 92, 91, and 24" for info on residential leases, termination periods, and forcible entry/detainer. It'll give you a primer without the $ an attorney will charge.