Condo Maintenance Expenses

4 Replies

Hello,

I am new to investing and am in the process of buying my first investment property which I will live in and rent out. My question is I know most HOA's cover the majority of the exterior maintenance expenses for condos. That being said on average what % of rental income should be budgeted for CapEx and Maintenance expenses? I have seen a number of people saying they budget 8-15% for maintenance and 5% for CapEx but that was for multi family units.

Thanks in advance for your input.

What does it cost you to recarpet and paint the place? Are going to replace fixtures or cabinets, new windows? Is there a special assessment on the horizon?

I have a condo that I just rented and I am not budgeting anything as the potential expense isn't large enough to worry about. 

What would a complete remodel cost? Expect that since your renters could wreck it to the point where it is required.

We own rental condos and our biggest expenses have been the A/C units and or water heaters, unless you're doing a full interior rehab. If the appliances are in high-end units and are new, they may be under warranty for a year or two; if not, typical lifespan could be 5 - 10 years depending on the way tenants treat them. Washers/dryers and dishwashers tend to go faster, due to abuse and so many more moving parts. Refrigerators and stoves can last a very long time. Built-in microwaves, not so long.

Other than big ticket items which we usually know about when we buy the units, we budget about $150 a month per unit. And some units rarely need anything. Some need a lot. Depends on the unit and the tenant. That's our average, and based on the average rents, it's about 10% a month. Hope this helps.

Promotion
PPR Note Company
Note Investing
Diversify your portfolio and get completely passive cashflow.
All without tenants, repairs, or vacancies - in a real-estate-backed investment fund.
Here's how.