Buying vs Renting, makes more "cents"

9 Replies

With interest rates low, and inventory high,

Now is a great time to stop renting, and buy!

I have been a Professional Realtor in Southern California
for well over a decade. Right now, in most cases, rental
amounts are higher than your mortgage would be if you purchased.
If you, or someone you know, is looking to buy, sell, or have their
property managed, I would appreciate the introduction.

Sounds like a radio ad.

Daniel, is that a compliment, or a dig?

That blanket statement is untrue. Even if your mortgage payment is less than your rent, its not necessarily better to buy.

1. You need substantial cash to put down to buy. Even if you can get a 3.5% loan you shouldnt.

2. Maintenance is now your problem. New furnace in winter? New roof when it rains? On you. If you dont have the reserves, dont buy

3. You are stuck with the house. Lost your job? Tough. New job 100 miles away? Too bad. If any of that happens in the first five years, very likely you will lose money to get out of the house.

There are many good reasons to rent. All my investment homes are rented out at rates that are probably 50-200% more than the mortgage payments. And yet they are all occupied! Go figure.

Anish,

Please look up the definition of "blanket statement", and then realize what I wrote, is not.

I only put approximately a 1/2 blanket over everyone. :)