Buying and holding

9 Replies

Hello everyone I am looking into real estate I am new to this but I need a little information ...I want to begin to buy and hold but trying to save the money to get the first house is tough...does anyone have any suggestions on how to get to this process a little quicker...would working with the bank be my best option at the moment please help?!?

Check out Brandon Turner's book "Investing in Real Estate with Little Or No Money Down"... Great read and it will give you all sorts of creative ideas on how to finance properties with out having a lot of cash.

You can order it right here off BP!!!!

Hi,

I just joined biggerpockets today and they has sent me a link to their free e-book - "BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginners Guide to Real Estate Investing". I just finished reading it, its a very high level view but very good info and also has a separate chapter for financing, that might be a help to you. I am pasting the link below -

https://www.biggerpockets.com/toolkit

Good Luck!

Hello!

One strategy you could employ since you live in a cash flowing city is to buy a house for yourself using an FHA loan at 3.5% and then convert it to a rental after a year or two.

Pros:

- If you live in the house for over two years, you get a tax shelter on your capital gains

- Only 3.5% down payment requried

Cons:

- PMI

- It is required that you live in the property as your primary residence for at least 1 year.

Best of luck!

If you are still looking for help my company works with investors to get them started with a turn key rental property. If you want to speak in more detail feel free to message me. I got started as a buy and hold investor and I love rental properties, now I help others do what I did!