Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Stanley Okazaki
  • Residential Real Estate Agent
  • The Woodlands, TX
Votes |
How to be a better landlord! (Tenant's POV)

Stanley Okazaki
  • Residential Real Estate Agent
  • The Woodlands, TX
Posted Jan 18 2015, 19:31

Okay, I've got to admit, Bigger Pockets is a bit biased when it comes to tenant discussions. This is a site full of landlords/investors so the bias is understandable but don't you wonder what would be said if there was a Bigger Pockets website for Tenants? 

I'm a licensed Realtor in Houston,TX and have helped a number of people/tenants rent houses/ apartments/ duplexes etc. When I first meet a client the one question I always ask them is why are you moving? The large majority are just looking for more space or to be closer to work but there always people who tell me, " I'm moving because my landlord is f*****g horrible!"

Time to stop pointing the finger!

It seems that every time I hear this, it's coming out of the mouth of someone that has been nothing but the perfect tenant! They're never late on rent, have perfect rental history, great credit, clean, stable employment. It's crazy how some of these landlords treat their tenants, good or bad.

The #1 complaint I hear from these tenants is that their landlord doesn't fix things! The straight up truth is that some landlords are too cheap & stubborn for their own good. If your tenant calls you about a leaky toilet or broken AC there's no reason you or  your handyman shouldn't be out there the following day trying to fix the problem. 

Another big issue I hear from these tenants are with management companies. In my perfect world I would suggest that every landlord manage their own property but unfortunately that will never be the case! However, if you in-trust the responsibility of managing your property with a management company, be sure they're doing their job!