Parking Space question-please advise

9 Replies

I am new to being a landlord, and I just purchased a 3/3 double, which has a one car garage with a driveway that could potentially park a few more cars, but then it will block the car in front of  it. There are some on-street parking around. Anyone could provide some insight on how to rent this out better? Making one unit accessible to the garage and the driveway and the other have to park on the street? BTW, I am in the north, parking on street could be a problem when there is snow. 

Also, if I remove the deck in the back, and remove the garage, I could probably make the backyard into 2 or 3 parking spots. But that seems like a big job without gaining more parking spaces overall. But if that's worth doing, it could be a project down the road.

Any advise will be appreciated. Thank you!

In the short term, you should charge additional rent (or a separate monthly fee) for use of the garage.  If you want to make changes to add more space later, that's up to you ... but I'd still recommend charging more for off-street parking.  

Do not allow tenants that do not pay for use of the garage to park on the driveway, as that will frustrate the person actually paying for the use of it.

Do you have space to increase the width of the driveway?  So that one car can get in and out of the garage and the other can be parked in the drive off to the side? While the driveway space isn't covered, it's still closer to the front door than the street and the tenant never has to worry that they'll have to park down the street bc there's an unusual event going on in the the neighborhood.