Brand new south jersey/philadelphia investor

7 Replies

Good evening Bigger Pockets community, Thanks for reading. I currently work as a realtor in the south jersey area (as a side job). However, I am looking to start investing my commissions in rental properties, or flipping properties. I am young (22) with some decent capital saved up. But not nearly enough to buy cash. Is starting off with having a mortgage a bad idea? Can anyone recommend any good rental market areas in philly and/or south jersey? Ideally I am looking for some advice to a brand new investor on some things you wish you did starting out. Thanks everyone, Steve

Welcome to BP @Steve Novosel ! Starting off with a mortgage at the young age of 22 is a great idea, as long as your property still positively cash flows. There are many advantages to having one. Here are a few examples:

1. Tax write offs for interest, which at the beginning, is most of your mortgage payment.

2. The ability to exploit the time value of money.

3. Leaving yourself capital (that you would have otherwise used to buy in cash) to purchase additional cash flowing properties.

Regarding rental areas, it really depends what you are seeking. South Jersey is tough because of the high taxes. That being said, areas along the PATCO Speedline have a strong demand for renters and the best potential for appreciation. Philadelphia generally has lower property taxes than South Jersey, but you will pay a 4% wage tax on any income you are unable to write off. If you are mostly concerned about cash flow, certain areas of Delaware might be your best bet, because of their lower taxes.

@Steve Novosel - Welcome to BP.