Would you discount rent for the less fortunate?

38 Replies

Hello All, Just sat in on a presentation given by a lady that runs a non profit that sets up homeless veterans with a myriad of resources to help get them off the street. One thing that struck me was the request for "landlords to lower their rent" and "give them a shot". She explained this as, the homeless veteran pool does not commonly meet most landlord's tenant standards (credit, income of 3x rent, and no felonies), and here in Seattle the rent is so high that the HUD VASH (section 8 for veterans vouchers) does not come close to the cost to rent. What is your take?

As an Acitve Duty Sailor and businessman, I cringed as I couldn't help but think I would love to help. But at what risk can I help a veteran when I have to pay my own bills.

Hi @Joel W.

As a veteran myself who is active in the veteran community in my area I fully understand your point. There are resources to help vets and I would be (and am) happy to be part of that. You are running a business though, so you still need to keep things solid on that front. As veterans though we don't have to do it alone.

On a small scale I think we make the biggest differences, if the lady you spoke of came with a prospect, there is nothing to say you can't go with them to the local VFW or American Legion and see what they can do to help you help the specific vet. Maybe with discussion they will run a Chicken BBQ and the proceeds help to get him in, or a Pancake breakfast etc (you show up that day and help). I know we run events for returning soldiers, health related issues that have hit older vets, it is what those clubs do, it is why they are there.