First rental property

8 Replies

Hey guys! Complete noob here. I am thinking of purchasing a rental property in Chicago. Any tips would be helpful. Would like to purchase something downtown or close to central Chicago so I can be close enough to put out any figurative fires. How does one find a good property? Any basic analytics that can be used? Best way to find good renters? How much to put down as down payment. Is FHA loan a good choice?

Thank you in advance!

welcome to BP @Jonathan Chung

Find a good realtor to guide you

@Alex Fraher  

In the meantime, make sure you get educated with the numbers, and network in your local REI.

FHA is an excellent way to get started with little money down, as long as the property/numbers make sense.

Search "house hacking" and "brrrr" on BP. Good luck! 

Stop everything you're doing and start listening to the BP podcasts, specifically those related to buy & hold (rental) investing. There are lots of blogs here in the forum that you should read all the way through. If all of your questions aren't answered by doing that, you haven't read enough. I think you will be hard pressed to find something in downtown Chicago that will yield positive cash flow. Good luck.

@Jonathan Chung educate yourself on the 2% rule and stick by it, or really really close, to ensure your property really does cashflow after call expenses including Capex. My experience has been property managers who are also realtors are more knowledgeable about buying investment property than just your typical realtor. Find some local seasoned investors and ask if you can tag along to look at deals. Seasoned investors are always willing to teach. Best of luck and best of luck to the Cubs tomorrow night!

Welcome Jonathan!