buying an income property

4 Replies

Hello, I am new at this but here goes my question. I have an opportunity to buy in a developing resort in Mexico. I am Mexican so I qualify to get a loan there. Here is what I know. the property on pre-sale is 309,000 USD. I have a down payment of 75,000 with possibilities of borrowing an extra 24000 from my 401 K. The condo is on a luxurious apartment complex with marina access, dock access, pools etc. The idea would be to buy it and rent it out. The interest rate on a loan from Mexico for the remaining amount (210,000) is 10%. Does this sounds like a crazy investment? I will be taking a tour of the place tomorrow and will find out about HOA and maintenance fees. The location is Puerto Aventuras, an exclusive community in the riviera maya. My idea is to let it pay for itself and use it when ever I want to go on a vacation. what are your thoughts? I know I am able to deduct any taxes paid in mexico when I file for taxes here in the US. Is there anything else I should be considering? any help is appreciated. thank you

You should probably find out the rental rates for similar properties, occupancy\vacancy rates to determine if its going to have a positive cash flow.  Additionally, since you aren't living in Mexico you may have to consider additional cost of a management company that will take care of renting, cleaning and maintaining the property.  Finally, you should check with a Tax Consultant on the additional income you earned outside the country and how that impacts your taxes.  e.g depreciation, interest etc

Would you traditionally rent this or vacation rental it, or a combination?  You should run the numbers and see if it will break even once you see the property and know the numbers better.  Condos make me nervous, you don't have as much control of costs.

@Maria Gracian Lavalle ,