Things to Ask for When Purchasing a Small Multi Family

7 Replies

Good morning BiggerPockets,

i'm new to investing and before the end of the year I am very serious about purchasing a few rental properties in Maryland, North Carolina, and potentially the Philadelphia area. This is a question for all of my real estate experts: When I'm looking at a multi-family property that has existing renters, I know I should ask for financials, but what exactly do I need and should I ask for? What should I be looking for on these documents?

Thanks and sorry for my ignorance. If I don't ask, then I don't learn. 

Hey there.

You want to see the rent roll and then also the P&L. You want to see the expense ratio, the property management fees. 

You want to see where you can add value to this property. 

Can you bring down the expenses? 

Can you increase rents to market? By how much?

All of these answers will help you know where you can add value and make the property worth more than you buy it at, which is important. 

@GreatTen Team. Immediately after getting an LOI or contract i request the following items....

Exhibit B

• Inventory of property tools, supplies and personal property
  • Exhibit C

• Service contracts including trash, laundry, extermination, lawn service, etc.
  • HVAC and/or boiler reports
  • Exhibit D

• Property management license (if applicable)
  • Certificate of occupancy
  • Exhibit E

• Certificate of insurance
  • Insurance claims history for the past 2 years
  • Exhibit F

• Commission agreements with the leasing staff
  • Current property management contract
  • Any other vendor contracts
  • Other Requested Due Diligence Documents

• Last 2 years of financial operating statements
  • A year-to-date operating statement
  • Last 6 months of bank statements
  • Utility deposit register
  • Utility bills for the last 2 years.
  • Property tax bills for the last 2 years
  • IRS Tax returns and addendums for the last 2 years (as related