Bringing in New Tenant After Broken Lease

5 Replies

This may be in an old thread somewhere, but I figured asking directly would be easier than digging. 

So I am fairly new to this and currently only have 1 rental house. So I recently had my first tenants break the lease after about 7 months of renting because of job relocation. I kept the deposit since they broke the lease, but would like to get the new renter in either on or shortly after December 1st so that I'm not losing much from vacancy. I had a potential tenant come and look at the house today and am waiting on the application back, but am pretty sure he is the one I will go with as long as the application doesn't have any surprises. He said he isn't planning on moving until about Dec. 9th, but could possibly do sooner. 

My question is, would it be fine to go ahead and push to start the lease on the 1st, so I can get a full month's rent for December, or just let him start it on the 9th and lose out on 9 days rent out of the month (which actually comes out to about 190 bucks)?

Thanks in advance for any response.

Personally, I'd take the December 9 move-in with a qualified tenant. Pushing for that extra money, especially with Christmas coming up, may end up creating a problem you otherwise may not have. Of course, I say this not knowing your specific market and the likelihood of finding someone else to move in by Dec. 1. We are in the same situation with a property. My advertising (a for rent sign and Zillow ad) has been much lower, ostensibly due to the holiday season not being the best time of year to get a place rented out. "As we speak", I am waiting for word our property manager has collected a deposit. The house in question was rented out within two weeks the last time we put it up for rent and this is the first time we've ever had a house sit empty for an entire month.