Section 8 tenant for a Newbie

7 Replies

Hi all! 

I'm new to BP, but am loving all the info and comments here. 

My husband and I are looking into our first rental property purchase (SFR in Texas), where the long-term tenant of 7+ years is under Section 8. Section 8 pays about 80% subsidy on the market rent. I'm wondering if we should steer clear of a Section 8 tenant for our first property. I know there are more rules and paperwork, and not that I'm not willing to learn the ropes, but I have a feeling it might be a bit too much to chew off for our first deal.

Thoughts? Steer clear on this for our first property?

I too had been under the impression that section 8 tenants are not terribly desirable. In talking to a seasoned pro yesterday he said they are just like the rest of the tenant pool-some good and some bad. "Look at them as any other prospective tenant". 

Your tenant has been in that property for 8 years! Have a look at the place-or have someone else do that-and check out the condition as best you can. I personally do not have any section 8 tenants; but might be open to that in the future. Best of luck

Thanks for your input @Bjorn Ahlblad ! Do you think such a long-term tenant is an advantage or disadvantage? It seems like he or she would not have a great impetus to move out, but then again, they are month-to-month, so what's to stop them I suppose. 

The numbers work out so well, so it's hard to pass up on this deal, but then again, I don't want our first experience to be one we regret!

Be careful buying a Sec8 tenanted property.  Some of the sec8 field offices are ridiculous to deal with and have extremely strict rules when it comes to landlord / ownership changes.