Potential Renter wants to run a business at property

8 Replies

Hey Bp! Just put my first property up for rent on Craigslist in Jacksonville and within 1 hour had a call from an interested party who wants to run a daycare from the house. She has no problem paying the security deposit and passing a background check (I’ll check up on these). 

Are there any legal ramifications for running a business of that sort from a single family home? 

My only initial concern is the amount of people coming and going/upsetting neighbors potentially with babies crying.

Should I be worried about anything else? I’m brand new to being a landlord! 

My thoughts: make sure its OK with zoning/HOA, ask your insurance company about liability and any sort of requirements for insurance the tenant would have to have. Also consider increased wear and tear, eg on plumbing with all the extra laundry/washing/little kid bladders etc. Lead paint or any paint chips etc also.

Thanks @Nicky Reader ! I'll definitely check with the insurance provider. There is no HOA, but I looked into zoning.

The property is zoned RLD (residential low density). One of the permitted uses in Jacksonville for RLD districts is family day care homes meeting the performance standards & development criteria set forth in Part 4. Part 4 goes on to say day care centers with between 1-14 people must meet the minimum lot req'ts (no extra req't here). Center must have adequate off street parking. Limited to operating between 6am-7pm.

It does say "Where a center is contiguous to a residentially-zoned property, a six-foot visual barrier, not less than 95 percent opaque, shall be provided along the property line, excluding any required front yards." 

^Does this mean the backyard must be fenced in with a 95% opaque fence?

Originally posted by @Thea Linkfield :

Thanks @Nicky Reader ! I'll definitely check with the insurance provider. There is no HOA, but I looked into zoning.