Security deposit question

11 Replies

Hey BP family, Wanted to reach out to you guys here. Question I have is that I just closed on his duplex, and one of the tenants is not renewing her lease and is suppose to vacate at the end of this month. From my understanding of the previous management company she has not paid her last months rent for this last month of July yet. But we have her security deposit, can we not give her anything back and keep the security deposit for the month of July? Or do we have to give it back to the tenant if the property meets the requirements after walk through of inspection? Let me know your guys thoughts and how you will handle this situation. This is my first time owing a rental property.

Hi @Koob Moua I am not a landlord but a renter currently.  From my understanding if the tenant does not fulfill the agreements in the contract then you can withhold the security deposit.  In the agreement they agree to pay X amount per month, and if they don't then they are in violation of the agreement and you (the landlord) can then keep the security deposit.  At least that is the way it is set up on my agreement.  Hopefully someone with a little more experience can give you some more insight.

A security deposit can be used to satisfy unpaid rent.  Of course, then you won't have anything leftover to cover any damages, which is why most leases prohibit tenants from using it as payment for the last month's rent.

Well this tenant always pays late from looking at the past rent statements and that’s one of the reasons why the previous management company is not renewing her lease from what I suspect. Since now I am the new owner and not using the property management company from previously and when we closed the agent told me that she will be leaving by this month and she has not paid her rent this month.