Is a Lease Option Possible Here?

4 Replies

Hello B.P.

I'm fairly new to real estate, and after educating myself here on B.P. I realize that I made a mistake on my first rental property. Let me be brief on my first property I bought about two years ago: I bought a 2 bed 1 bath duplex in a neighborhood that has a lot of vacancy and low rents( I found out about this after I bought the property, again not studying my market) for 95k with a conventional loan at 4.12% interest with a 25% down payment for 30 years PITI is $540 a month. I currently have one side rented for $525 and the other side vacant at the moment. There are some vacant duplexes around me for $395-500 so mine is slightly above the rest. The tenant that I currently have has been living there long term over 3 years. As you guys can see I don't cash flow at all in this property. I'm having trouble renting the other side since the rents are so low in this neighborhood if I drop the rent to 400 like the rest the numbers still don't work and if my other tenant finds out the other side is paying 400 I don't know how he would react( big hassle). My first question is does anyone see any solutions here? My second question is my current tenant asked me If I would be interested in rent to own. Is that even possible with this property. I would really like to find a solution to move on to next deal. This property has been a great learning experience for me as I'm the one managing it and learned a great deal of being a landlord.

Thanks