Lease Option "protection" for the Tenant

14 Replies

I have a great opportunity to get a property with great terms with a 24 month Lease Option but I am new at lease options so have a question or two. We have a contract written up and we have all the details in the contract. But..

1. What prevents the "Landlord" say on the 23rd month to decide he doesn't want to move forward with the sale? What recourse do I have?

2. If the Landlord were to bail can I put a Lien against the property. Our lease option agreement states 1/2 of the monthly rent goes to principle. so $6k over the course of 24 months will be applied to principle.

3. Can I file something with the registry of deeds in my county stating that the property at X location owned by Mr Smith has agreed to sell on this date to me (Tenant).

Thats it for now thank you all for your input, I live in Maine and dont know how the laws differ from state to state, but if you can lead me to water i will drink.

David

Local laws vary quite a bit with lease options, so make sure you check with someone who specializes in the LO that's in your state.

That said, your answer is yes. A seller/landlord is bound by the contract to sell you the property if you exercise your option according to the contract. Just make sure the contract you sign doesn't have any exit clauses written in for the landlord. Worst case scenario, you would have to file this contract in deed records and the landlord would be forced to pay you before he could sell the property in the future.

IMO it's pretty unlikely that you would go into the LO contract and have the landlord back out. Just make sure you always pay your rents on time or else they may have something written in that gets them out of the contract.

Unfortunately there are some "investors" who use very predatory lease option agreements that are very easy for the tenant to violate. Sometimes something as simple as being a day late with the rent is enough to void the option.