how would you describe doing a subject to to a seller?

7 Replies

and how would you describe doing an option with the seller?

i want to start doing these, but dont know how i would explain this to someone selling the house

You could call it:

"take over payments"

"Owner Financing"

"I'll make the payments on your loan"

"Buy the property 'subject-to'  your existing loan"

Most realtors would say:

"Seller Carry", or "Carry-back" - Often creating a new note. 

Larry

thanks

Check out the podcasts.  The people that do subject-to usually go through the different ways they phrase it to the seller and I think you'll find what you're looking for.

This is excerpted from an email I sent to the seller for my first deal, a sub-to.

A sub2 means the house would be totally out of your hands. The mortgage would stay in your name, which I agree is weird, but it is a legal agreement that is set up with an attorney. You would have to find an investor you trust. I have three years of experience as a landlord/investor, but I've been a homeowner for eight years, and we've never had a late payment. You'd also be welcome to check my and my husband's credit. You would continue to reap the credit benefits of on-time mortgage payments, but be free of the house.

If you do end up wanting to make all the fixes, cleaning, and selling it through a realtor, take a look at this calculator.http://www.homegain.com/sellertools/home_sale_proceeds_calculator

If the house were fixed up and in show condition, with a sale price of $130,000, after realtor fees and closing costs, it looks like you would clear about $7,000. You need to subtract the costs of getting the house ready to sell, though, which I know from experience is a lot. Your average non-investor generally wants a pristine house with updates.

Good luck with whatever you decide! I'd still like to see the house and talk to you about it when you have time. I hope your week gets better. :)