Atlanta Metro: Buying Residential Lot

4 Replies

Wanted to take some advice from you experts. I have residential lot available at a good price (40k) in prime neighbourhood (homes in that neighbourhood go at around 600-800k). However the lot is not even and has lot of trees (approx 1.25 Acres).

Is it worth investing? The options i am thinking is to

1) Option 1: Develop the lot (clear the trees, stumps and level the land) and put it  back on the market--not sure how much this will cost..but looks like 3-5k to clear the land. Levelling still checking.

2) Option 2 is to hire a builder and build a home. I am totally new to this process so thinking this may not be a good option but if I can find a good builder and a good price $50-$60/sq ft for consturction may be worth a try.

Thanks again everyone,

Amit

The average share of the home’s sales price which goes to finished lot cost is about 20% in this area, so it seems like you have a lot of room there for a new construction. You may be way off though, on build costs. For a high end home I can't see you getting anywhere near your figure. I'm thinking about 30% more.  That still gives you room, though. Figure about 60% to construction, 10% for marketing, carrying costs and general overhead, and depending on the square footage, you can still look at 10% (or more, with the low lot cost)profit of a nice sales price. If you're an infill lot intown, that's a quick sale.  Seem like the construction loan would be the hardest  part of this!

It all depends on the numbers & location. I have a similar situation in Brookhaven area that I am figuring out the options. Option 1 is best if you are not a savvy investor going thru the pains of building and selling retail.

If you are building a house you need to time the market for maximum buyer season and price. Also you need to define upfront if this is a move up buyer home. 600k to 800k is not a starter home. Buyers in that range expect lots of bells and whistles in GA.