Lease Option on a fixer upper

2 Replies

I'm new to BP, looking for some advice. I am a contractor, and I've had a property fall into my lap. A gentleman from out of state wants to sell his successful rental but it needs a lot of work. I want to set up a L/O and he is interested but wants a proposal. Any ideas on the best way I can set it up to come out ahead, I would like to do work on the house as part of my rent, the term would be two years and I am confident I will buy in the end. The only reason I don't buy it now is I have only been self employed for a year and cannot qualify for a mortgage.

@Brandon Mason

Welcome to BP!

Questions...

• What is the existing financing?  Amount to pay off, payment, type - govt or non govt, arm or fixed
  • What is market rent?
  • Is it habitable now, meaning rentable?  Can't legally rent an un habitable house.

`````````````````````````````````````````````

You can do a JV, 

ARV - resales costs - re hab costs - private lender interest - your JV profit say 10%

= note for seller

No payments on note until resale (moratorium)

Say ARV = $200,

- $20K in resales costs - $20,000 rehab costs - $2K private lender interest - $10K in JV profit to you = $148K note to Seller, moratorium for 4 months

You buy it, own it, fix it, list it, sell it, pay the costs to sell, pay seller, pay private lender, make $10K for putting the solution together.