How to structure a RTO rehab deal

5 Replies

I'm still new to investing and working my tail off to find deals, investors and information as I go along. BP has been heaven sent no doubt. All that being said heres my question\situation. There are a lot of vacant houses in my area which I've been targeting the most. Some of these properties need extensive work and some need very little. I talked to one of these houses today(the home owner, not the house. I'm a girl and of course i'm crazy but not crazy enough to talk to houses) and was asking the owner about RTO. He sounded interested. Now I could take the little bit of money I have and purchase the house out right but would be left with nothing to rehab it with. I'm wanting to do a RTO so I can leave my funds available for the flip. Is there a way to do something similar to a wrap or sub to on a property owned outright? I don't want to drop 20k on a property to find the owner has changed his mind and no longer wants to sell or he wants more money now that he see's what the house has become. Of course I'd have my RTO contract but if he wont show up at the closing table to sign the papers then I'd be screwed. How can I go about transferring the deed into my name to insure everything will go smooth when I finish the flip. I have been researching wraps and sub to's and am starting to understand them but am still unsure if or what can be done when there is no traditional mortgage and it will be completely owner financed.

@Alisha Mingus

Solution 1. Buy it Sub2 and give a note with no payments for 6 months, fix it, sell it, profit, have a party.

Solution 2. Do a JV with the Seller, Sign a JV agreement, Buy it Sub2 and give a note with no payments for 6 months, fix it, sell it, profit, have a party. Seller gets more money with the JV.

DO NOT EVER Lease w Option on a REHAB.  Get on TITLE before you rehab.

Read

http://www.biggerpockets.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93...

for sub2 posts.

Originally posted by @Brian Gibbons :