I Saw This on YouTube so it Has to Work lol

13 Replies

I've spent the past couple nights stuffing envelopes and watching REI videos on YouTube. I'll bet I've watched 50+ videos, and I know I'm up to 800 letters.

I was going to send out 1000 "I Buy Houses blah blah" letters, but...

I started watching YouTube guru lease option videos, and then I watched a couple "use master lease options for apartment building investing" videos.

A couple guys on Youtube said anyone one can do it, so it has to be true. Right?

I'm a licensed agent in Florida, have rehabbed my share of houses, and have assigned at least 100+ contracts over the years, but have never tried to control a property with a lease option. 

I started wondering if I'm missing out.

I'm sending 100 "I'll pay your price if you take my terms" type letters to "pretty" SFR expired listings, and 100 to expired multi family listings.

Has anyone had any luck (good or bad) with LOs?

@Jeff Morelock

I coach the 3 strategies below.

"Terms deals" in Florida if you're licensed I think is an awesome plan, along with 2 other strategies.

1. Terms: sub2, land contract, wrap, and lease option - lease purchase acquisitions.

2. JV with seller on a minor rehab

3. Classic wholesaling 70% LTV - repairs - wholesaling fee

Use all 3 in Florida.

@John Thedford

I haven't considered lease options. Maybe I am missing the boat! Keep us informed of your progress. To my knowledge, lease options if structured properly are bona fide legal and you won't run into problems with DBPR, etc. I don't know the legalities of selling a lease option and how regulators would view that. Please let us know what particular videos/author you are watching so we may check it out. Sub2, land contract, lease with option are all viable ways to purchase or control and then convert to ownership. @Brian Gibbons is the expert on structuring deals...and while I am talking about him...it is time for you to offer some youtube videos...:)