Contract for deed questions (Seller Financing)

7 Replies

I recently bought 2 houses in a lower income area of Omaha, NE. I am interested in selling them via 'Contract for Deed'. I own them free and clear. I was going to set the loan payments around what normal rent would be and ask for $2-5k down (holding a portion of that aside with the thought that if they default I may need to use it to bribe them out of the house in case of default - 'cash for keys'). I was not going to put a balloon on these notes at the end of 2, 3, or 5 years but rather extend the note out 10-20 years and hold the note the entire time. I am new to this though and have some questions if anyone can offer advice I would appreciate it.

1. Do I need to have a loan servicing company service the loans? If so, whats a good one? (I would like to report their payments to the credit reporting agencies and as I understand it, this is the only way to do that.)

2. Do I have to record these transactions with the county registrars office? Or can I keep it an unrecorded transaction until the last note payment is made?

3. Any other advice anyone can offer?

Thanks!

HI Justin, I would put the properties in an LLC in case you have problems later. Maybe even separate LLCs if there is a lot of equity.

In most jurisdictions if a Tenant Buyer stops paying on a Contract for Deed you have to foreclose on them. If they stop paying on a Lease Option you evict them. Very different processes. If you own the properties free and clear, no need in my opinion, to do anything other than have them do an ACH to your account or send you checks for payment. Your choice.