Can I advertise properties on my website without a Licence?

17 Replies

I am new to the Lease Option strategy, and have heard conflicting views from different people on this subject; can I advertise a house that I have under contract for a Lease Option on my website without a Realtors licence?

I am not a Nevada broker.. I would simply call the state or write them and ask them .. the department of real estate is usually pretty helpful when you ask first .. instead of doing it wrong and then asking for forgiveness.

so you don't own it but your going to buy it then lease it out.. so you want to know if you can jump the process and get your lease buyer before you close ??? is that what your asking.

Thanks for the reply! Yes that is correct, so if i were to get a property under contract for a 2 year Lease Option, once the initial contract is signed would i be able to advertise for a buyer so that i can flip that Lease Option? I'm not sure if I can legally place advertisements on my website without a licence

I would check with attorney but it does appear to be brokering  real estate without a license 

Universal Citation: NV Rev Stat § 645.230 (2013)

1. It is unlawful for any person, limited-liability company, partnership, association or corporation to engage in the business of, act in the capacity of, advertise or assume to act as, a:

(a) Real estate broker, real estate broker-salesperson or real estate salesperson within the State of Nevada without first obtaining the appropriate license from the Real Estate Division as provided for in this chapter;https://law.justia.com/codes/nevada/2013/chapter-6...

Having it on your website almost puts a target on your back Some might say I am only selling a contract and not real estate but when the state comes down on you right or wrong it can be pretty expensive to defend  

Thank you Steven, I will speak with an attorney before doing anything. Much appreciated!