Rent-to-own dangers / cautions

12 Replies

Though I have rented accommodations before, I have little experience in Rent to Own. I have a young nephew who is looking to Rent to Own a small home in Mexico, and he is asking me about what kind of contract terms should be involved. I am concerned he is walking into a mistake, what are some of the threats or dangers he should be aware of when considering this option?

Some general thoughts:

(1) All of the diligence due for a typical house closing should be done for a rent to own. Most importantly, he needs to make sure there are no liens on the property. 

(2) He should distinguish between renting with an option to buy, and renting with a promise to buy in the future. The latter is much more risky, because there is a chance he will not be able to afford the property or obtain financing in the future. An option contract is generally safer. Worst case, he loses the money that he paid for the option but walks away without exercising his option. 

(3) He should try to figure out why the seller is willing to do a rent to own or non-traditional financing. Most likely, your nephew is dealing with a very sophisticated party. He should lawyer up before signing any contract with the seller. 

(4) He should consult with someone with a lot of market knowledge before paying a dime for an option contract. He might be in a depreciating market and pay for the right to buy it for above market value in the future.

(5) He should read some books on investing (E.g., Rich Dad, Poor Dad). In particular, he should realize that a primary residence is not an asset but a liability (at least from a cash flow perspective), and that it is often better to rent than own, especially if future plans are uncertain and/or he can invest the difference in low cost index funds. 

Disclaimer: This post is for informational purposes only and is not legal advice. This post does not create an attorney-client relationship with anyone.