Lease Option Personal Residence

8 Replies

Hello everyone, I've lived in my current house for 4 years (my first live in flip). I just put it up for rent at market value for $1800 (4br/2ba @ 1640 sqft) in Ohio. I considered selling originally, but chose renting for the monthly checks while house appreciates....now it just hit me I could do a lease option! I paid $146k, UPB $123, and it recently appraised at $191k. I've never done a lease option before, so I'm open to suggestions on how to structure the deal. lmk if any other pertinent info is required. Thanks in advance!

So there are a few things to consider here with doing a lease option, especially in this situation.

1. What is the term of the option you wish to give? A key consideration, in this case, is capital gains. If you've lived in the house for 2 out of the last 5 years you can likely take most of your profits tax-free (you'll probably need to recapture some depreciation but that should be minimal). So you may want to consider a 2-3 year option. If capital gains is not a concern, potentially a longer-term option would work better. The longer the option period, generally speaking, the higher the option price you can get.

2. What is the option price (strike-price) you wish to get for the house?  Think in terms of future value.

3. What duties will the new resident have? (We use a nuisance repair clause in our contracts and the resident is responsible for all repairs under a certain amount - based on our landlord tenant act in AZ, check with your state).

We love doing lease options because we get a much better quality resident (they tend to think like owners, not renters) as well has lower repairs and higher monthlies.

Hi @Curtis Maag and welcome to BiggerPockets!